/ 5.10.24

What Are the Penalties for Criminal Trespassing in California?

Written by: Doug Ridley

What to Know If You Face Criminal Charges for Trespassing

It is unlawful for a person to enter another person’s private property without their consent. If you are charged with criminal trespassing, you may face serious penalties, including substantial fines and potentially jail time. It is important to discuss your case with an attorney to determine the best course of action after an arrest. 

At Ridley Defense, our criminal defense attorneys provide experienced representation for individuals who have been arrested for trespassing and other crimes. Our legal team will help protect your rights and work to secure the most favorable disposition possible for your case. We serve clients throughout Ventura and the surrounding communities. Contact our office today at (805) 208-1866 to schedule a complimentary consultation. 

What Is Criminal Trespassing?

Criminal trespassing is codified under California Penal Code Section 602. Trespass can involve a number of different activities, but it usually boils down to the unlawful entry on another person’s property. Under California law, you are unable to enter or remain on someone else’s property without their permission or a license authorizing your right to be there. 

Criminal trespass may include:

  • Cutting down wood on another person’s property
  • Damaging a city sign
  • Entering another person’s property without permission
  • Tearing down another person’s fence
  • Removing the lock on a gate of another person’s property
  • Refusing to leave property belonging to another person

If you are arrested for criminal trespassing, it is important to speak with an attorney. An attorney can help you understand the charges you are facing. They can also help you determine what defenses may arise in your case. 

What Are the Penalties for Criminal Trespassing in California?

Under most circumstances, criminal trespassing is charged as an infraction or a misdemeanor. However, it may also be charged as a felony. 

In many instances, a violation of trespassing is punishable by a fine of up to $100. However, if you refuse to leave an airport or a passenger vessel terminal after being asked to leave by a peace officer, you could face up to six months in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000. 

Do the Penalties for Criminal Trespassing Increase with More Offenses?

Penalties for criminal trespassing increase with a second or subsequent offense. Pursuant to the Penal Code, a person who has been convicted of a previous offense may face up to six months in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000.

Arrested for Trespassing? Contact Our Office. 

Were you arrested for criminal trespassing in Ventura or the surrounding areas? Contact our office today at (805) 208-1866 to schedule a complimentary consultation. Our legal team will help you navigate the legal process and will work to ensure you receive the best possible outcome in your case. 

It is important to act quickly. Early intervention can prove critical in your case. Working with an attorney immediately after an arrest can help ensure that all legal avenues are explored. To get your life back on track after an arrest for trespassing or another crime, call our office.

Share This Story

Interested in this topic? Your friends might be too! Consider sharing this story to your social media channels by clicking the icons below.

Receive Guided Support through this difficult time.

Whether you need advisement, negotiation, damage control, or aggressive courtroom representation, our caring, compassionate, and tactically brilliant attorneys will fight for you.

I Want To...
uploadmagnifiercrossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram